Lifetime Achievement Award

The AdvaMed Lifetime Achievement Award highlights the contributions and accomplishments of a senior executive in the medical technology industry who has made significant contributions to our industry and its employees and had a significant impact on patients’ lives.

2019 AdvaMed Lifetime Achievement Award
Nomination Process and Criteria

AdvaMed is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award. We invite you to submit a nomination and we encourage you to extend this invitation to others in your network. Please read through the criteria below and submit a brief two-paragraph summary that highlights your nominee’s achievements and the rationale behind the nomination. All submissions are due by, Friday, May 31, 2019 to We look forward in your participation in selecting our next recipient.

Overall, nominees should be outstanding individuals who have made significant and prolonged contributions to the medical technology industry in areas such as:

  • Industry leadership
  • Mentoring both in and outside of company
  • Introduction of and promotion of innovation
  • Role in discovery and commercialization
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Venture capital/capital formation
  • Education and public understanding
  • Legislation and regulation
  • Philanthropy

Candidates should demonstrate industry leadership through activities and actions that have had an impact not only on their own companies and products, but on the medical technology industry and patients worldwide.

The purpose of the award is to honor an individual who has greatly contributed to the growth or prominence of the medical technology industry through his or her lifetime.

The award will recognize individuals with sustained activity in areas such as industry leadership, innovation, discovery, commercialization, entrepreneurship, venture capital/capital formation, education, public understanding, legislation/regulations or philanthropy.

Nominations and Timing
AdvaMed’s Board Membership Committee and Executive Committee will make the final selection determination. The award will be presented at the 2019 AdvaMed MedTech Conference in a ceremony during a plenary session or other suitable time. This format ensures a large audience of industry peers and stakeholders. It is our hope that this recognition will both honor a worthy industry legend and serve to inspire future generations of medical technology executives.

The 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Vernon R. Loucks, retired Chairman and CEO of Baxter International Inc.